AGM 2022 – Report to Membership

Annual General Meeting
Report to Membership – November 2022

The Chapter membership gathered to hear from the attending Board Members on the overall Chapter status, the results of 2022 Chapter activities and to learn of the approach and plans for the coming year.

The Chapter By-laws required voting for three Executive Board positions. Member Bert Shipman had taken on the task of Nominations Chair to oversee the voting process. Bert reported the following at the meeting:

“Having received three nominations, one for Chapter President, one for Chapter Secretary and one for Chapter Membership Director and, having received no additional nominations up to the cut-off date of October 28th at 5pm, all three candidates are unopposed, and no voting is required tonight. Congratulations are in order to Mike Parry, President, to Bud Swenson, Secretary and to Paul Dolan, Chapter Membership Director”.

A copy of the Executive Board Members and Officers presentations on the challenges and accomplishments of ‘Restarting the Chapter’ can be found at the Chapter web site ‘Members Only’ area, covering the financials (now healthy), successful fund-raising, Young Eagles – 142 flown, member events (many, including fly-outs, tower visits, DANG visit and more), membership count – now 172, with 17 new members in 2022, Scholarship program resort, donations and plans for hangar upkeep. The Chapter is clearly well positioned for continued success in 2023.

Members viewed a video shown as part of the AGM capturing much of the activities of 2022, which can be viewed in the Chapter video’s area .

The guest speaker of the evening was Jon Martin, Aviation Director of the airport, with a review of the history and the sizable improvements and additions to airport facilities, capabilities and services. Hugely impressive, and very meaningful for all airport users, for Chapter members and for aviation in our region.

We also took time to celebrate member Tom Callahan’s very recent ‘FAA Wright Brothers – Master Pilot Award’ reflecting Tom’s 50 year contribution to aviation, and aviation safety.

Mike Parry, President
Octavian Codreanu, Vice President
Bud Swenson, Secretary
Brad Carnegie, Treasurer
Paul Dolan, Membership

with John Leslie – Hangar Manager, Bert Shipman – Nominations Chair, and Chuck Shipman – Fund-raising events.

Questions, comments feedback – all welcomed: